5 Super Easy Tricks to Stop the Stress Zombie

Have you ever felt like a stress zombie? Has stress had you stumbling around, moaning incoherently? Have you been so stressed that you are barely feeling alive? Braaaainnnnssss. Mmmmm I neeeed braaaainnnnssss. Actually, I just need to find my own brain.

Stressed college student
Photo of Stephon L. taken by Gabriella C.

Nobody wants to be stressed! Yet, it has a sneaky way of wiggling into your brain and affecting your life. Who else is feeling those midterms right now? Trust me, you are not alone.

My first year in college, stress became the clumsy sidekick I never wanted. Between exams, projects, friends and work, I had a zillion things on my mind.  How can I get all of this done? Why is there only so much time in a day? What am I doing with my life? Who am I?

I was turning into a stress zombie!

I knew I needed to change the way I dealt with stress. I had to figure out simple changes that would calm my brain AND fit within my insanely busy life. That’s when I figured out how to trick stress.

 

Here are 5 super easy tricks to stop the stress zombie:

 

Take a Time Out

Timeouts weren’t so cool when you were four. Now, you totally want one. No, you don’t have to go sit in a corner (unless that’s your thing?). When you’re buried in overwhelming “to-dos,” take occasional ten-minute timeouts. Go grab a snack, watch funny videos or listen to some music. It gives your brain time to recharge. Plus, it helps you relax, chill and refocus.

 

Write it Out

Overwhelmed by a million things running through your brain at once?

Edit paper. Need pizza. Pay bills. What is love? Ahhhh!

Stop the thoughts from swirling by getting everything that is overwhelming you out of your head and onto paper. Once you have unloaded, pick out the “must dos”. Make a list putting your “must dos” in order of importance. This way, you can see where to start and concentrate on one thing at a time. Take the other thoughts that don’t need immediate attention (sorry pizza) and set them aside. You know they are there, but you don’t have to worry about dealing with them right away.

 

Talk it Out

Are you talking to yourself? I’m sure you have very interesting conversations… But when the voices in your head have nothing good to say, it is time to talk to someone else. Talk to a friend, sibling, counselor or someone you feel comfortable with. Talk about the things that are overwhelming you. Share how you are feeling. Bottling up your worries is basically a breeding ground for stress. Get it out!

 

Get Moving

When you start freaking out, unload the negative energy by sweating it out. Get up and get moving. Moving your body releases tension and clears your mind. It also wakes up your endorphins, which are natural mood boosters. Go to the gym, go for a bike ride or turn on some music and dance.

 

Breathe and Stretch

Breathing totally tricks stress! When stress is making you tense, take a few deep breaths. Breathe in, hold for a few seconds, and breathe out. It will help you relax your muscles, calm your mind and refocus your brain.

Stretching has the same effect. You don’t need to be a gymnast. A few simple stretches will do the trick. Tilt your head side to side holding for a few seconds, roll your shoulders, and reach towards the ceiling. This trick is simple enough to use anywhere. So, when you start stress sweating during your finals, take a few deep breaths and roll your shoulders. No one will even notice.

Before you turn into a stress zombie, use these super simple tips to trick stress!

Brains are not good for your diet, anyway.

I changed the way I dealt with overwhelming moments and actually started enjoying the process! Use these easy tricks and let your brain relax a little.

Here is one more trick to beat stress. Share this everywhere and save the world from a stress zombie apocalypse!

What’s been stressing you out lately?  Is there anything you do to trick stress?

Here’s to figuring it out!


Leave a comment